top of page
  • Writer's pictureSergey Denisov

“Stress, Is It Really So Dramatic?“



There are so many talks about stress now and what is the cause of it that it makes me think, is it really so dramatic? Or maybe we’re just imagining things and overdramatizing them?

Well, I think one of the main causes of stress is a lack of ‘painful’ experiences in life and too comfortable lifestyle of this day and age when everything seems to be given on a silver plate with iPhones, electric cars and espresso.


Just think about it for a moment, what can cause stress? Your angry boss? I don’t think so - you can change your perspective of being in a particular state of mind any time you feel like it.


Deadlines? I don’t think deadlines is an appropriate term to use because we all know that a really good, inspiring creative job is done outside the deadlines.


What else? Unsuccessful, unhappy relationship, you can say? Well, if we have an unhappy, distressed, unsuccessful relationship it makes perfect sense to end it and start a new one.


You may say it’s not that easy and I’m gonna answer - you’ll be amazed how…but ‘read my lips’: “Sorry, I don’t think it’s working out, I don’t think I am in a position to continue our personal quest, so let’s just not see each other for some time”.


What else? Death of parents? Well, this is the one I’m not in a position to comment on because both of my parents are alive. But I teach English and sometimes we speak with students about death.


One student of mine told me that she lost both her parents. Her mother died of cancer when she was fifty-six and her father and her father died of a heart attack when he was thirty-three. It was strange because he was quite a lovely and happy person.


I agree these things are very personal and will cause grief, stress and let you down quite rightly so; or I would say you are left with something that goes away from you. No questions asked.


But having said that, I think when you always try to work within deadlines you are missing out on something very important - integrity, personal growth and the feeling that the work you have finished is an honest, natural and complete extension of your real self.




English Via Storytelling 2006 - 2023 Doggedly Extracted From The Adventurous Midst Of Turquoise Imagination Via Sergey Denisov

11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page