top of page
  • Writer's pictureSergey Denisov

"Learning English with Daisy Using Minecraft"



   “I said we are gonna be playing games and learning English by using Minecraft”, said Daisy menacingly, a soft dangerous something gritted through her snowy white garland of sharp fangs.


   A Poor Student: “No, no, I wanna use a book, I wanna study English using a book!”


Daisy gave him a stony strict spine-chilling teacher’s glare.


   “No, we are not gonna be using bloody books! That’s past! I said games, read my lips - games! Comprende? You little illiterate brat! No more questions, just do as you are told - open the game, shut the duck up and let’s roll. Come to think of it I need to have a go and finish off a few monsters myself to take the edge off -


being a teacher is not like sipping a cup of cold tea while cosing up under the smiley sun in the mid of July in Königsberg having a nice tan in the process as you may think little pimp. It is an honorable job, hard job but rewarding one as they say but I wouldn’t expect you, with your mango seed for a brain to understand me”, she sighed.


   A Poor Student (half crying): “All right, but I’m gonna be thinking about finding a more traditional teacher. I think video games are not a very natural way of studying. It’s computerised, it’s robotic, it’s not natural and it’s for goddamn kids! And I’m not a kid. I wanna study English using a book, let me study English using a book!”


   There was a few-second silence. A sharp snap. And a soft thud of disoriented body collapsing on the floor.


   “There is a good chap”, whispered Daisy, looking down at the motionless heap.


   “God, he looked less brittle at first glance. This game implementation isn’t going as smoothly as Augustina prognosticated. If you ask me it requires some firm handling. Maybe we should add a few books into the curriculum; yes, good thinking.”


   Daisy clapped her hands together rubbing them smugly against each other as if the cat was in the bag and proceeded to the next, this time online tutoring session, whispering to herself while poking with her rainbow-coloured manicured toes the non-stirring heap on the floor to check if it’s properly handled - “I’m so grateful, guys, for being an incredible part of this amazing Mocksinity team”.


English Via Storytelling 2024 Doggedly Extracted From The Adventurous Midst Of Turquoise Imagination Via Sergey Denisov.



23 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page