top of page
  • Writer's pictureSergey Denisov

‘A Story’ - Linking Personality and a Story (Within the Realms of English)



The idea of this method is that the author creates a creative story based on his own experiences and shares his adventures with the students within the context of the classroom.


“My friendship with the language began somewhere around 2004. I was a student of Kaliningrad Technical State University. One time I accidentally attended the contemporary dance performance of Vitaly Glykhov, in the Kaliningrad Museum of History. After the performance I


approached him telling that I was very moved by what I saw; we chatted a little bit and it turned out to be that he was also an actor in the theater and an English teacher as well.” (from “The story of my relationship with English.”)


The author uses real life situations that he experiences as material for the story with details that help to reveal personal quirks intriguing students to dig deeper into personality by working on the stories that this personality has created.


“I went to the audition because I wanted to be part of this amazing world of creative personalities, it went well, and I was accepted and became part of the troupe, to my great happiness really. It was an incredible time for me, when you are in the theater, there are a lot of people there, and they are all creatively crazy in a good sense of this word, so I had the opportunity to learn from them by being a 'sponge'.”(from “The story of my relationship with English.”)


A certain image starts appearing in students’ inner space creating a whole new universe inside which is connected with passion and love towards new ways of expressions, allowing students to make the first step to exploring individuality in the context of a new language, meaning the desire to create within the context of a new realm (English) becomes a practical habit.


“So I took inspiring lessons from him and at the same time I was a student of Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University, ‘Philology and Journalism’(‘Art and Humanities’) and Linguistics & Intercultural Communication - ‘Spoken English’. I also joined Contemporary Dance Theatre as a dancer where Vitalik was a director, ballet classes and started to take jazz singing lessons.” (from “The story of my relationship with English.”)


ps: the work (“The Implementation Of the Principle Of Creativity In Teaching English”) can be viewed here:




English Via Storytelling 2023 Doggedly Extracted From The Adventurous Midst Of Turquoise Imagination Via Sergey Denisov.


11 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page